The Catalyst International Film Festival in association with the Writers Guild of Ireland (WGI) are delighted to announce the shortlisted finalists for the inaugural Screenplay Award for short film.

The shortlisted screenplays and writers are:

Sherry Trifle – Graham Molloy and Mo O’Connell

Focail Baile Croí – Katie McNeice

High Tea – Miriam Devitt

Abide With Me – Róisín Kearney

Shadow – Aisling Corristine

Divine Interventions – Shannon Welby

Butterfly Mountain – Helen Adams

The shortlisted screenplays will be considered by the jury of award winning screen winning writers:

Mark O’Halloran, Ailbhe Keogan, Paddy Slattery and Juanita Wilson

There will be a cash prize of €1,000 for the winner along with membership of WGI for a year, a trophy and book voucher. The runner up will receive a cash prize of €200 and membership of WGI for a year along with a trophy.

Jennifer Davidson, Chair of the Writers’ Guild of Ireland said, “I was delighted that we were able to support the Catalyst International Film Festival Screenwriting Award. It’s so important to see festivals champion screenwriting and screenwriters, and particularly a festival like Catalyst that has equality and diversity at its core. Awards like these are so important to writers, at any stage of their career, and I’m excited to see the talent that this award will highlight.” 

Speaking about the award Festival Founder, Susan Liddy; “We are delighted with the response to Catalyst’s first Short Script Award and grateful to an outstanding jury in Mark O’Halloran, Juanita Wilson, Paddy Slattery and Ailbhe Keogan. Our thanks also to the Writers Guild of Ireland and particularly its chair, Jennifer Davidson, for supporting this inaugural award.”

The Catalyst International Film Festival will host the 2nd edition of the festival from Limerick via Eventive on 19th/20th March 2021, presenting a film programme that celebrates diverse stories and storytellers currently under-represented on screen and behind the camera.